A quote I want to hang on my office wall

Thomas Merton Quote

 

“The beginning of love is to let those we love be perfectly themselves, and not to twist them to fit our own image. Otherwise we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them.”

I don’t remember where I found this quote, but I really really appreciate it. Something that I’ve struggled with in my marriage is learned to love my wife for who she is and to chuck all my preconceptions about what should be into the garbage. Its not that I had never heard that you have to love people for who they are, but it takes a lot of time and experience to really learn how to do it.

The source for this quote is No Man is an Island by Thomas Merton. I’ve never read the book, but I suppose I ought to. It can be purchased here if anyone is interested.